Women of Europe Awards 2022

The seventh edition of the Women of Europe Awards took place at the BELvue Museum, Place des Palais 7, 1000 Brussels on Thursday 8 December 2022. The ceremony was held from 18:30 to 21:30 and was followed by a reception.

The Women of Europe Awards are jointly organised by the European Movement International and the European Women’s Lobby, building upon the national awards of several European Movement National Councils.

Olga Rudenko, Editor-in-Chief at Kyiv Independent, was awarded one of the ‘Woman of Europe’ Awards, in the Woman in Action category. The other winners were Sanna Marin (Woman in Power), Laura De Dilectis (Woman in Business), and Viviane Ogou Corbi (Woman in Youth Activism).

"I would like to think that I am accepting this Award not just as an individual, but on behalf of all the brave women that are part of the Kyiv Independent and, in fact, on behalf of all Ukrainian women. They have been through so much this year. They truly are remarkable women in action."

Olga Rudenko

See the full version of Rudenko’s powerful acceptance speech:

Winning the Woman in Power Award: Sanna Marin – Prime Minister of Finland. According to the jury, Marin won the Woman in Power Award for the skillful and adept way in which she navigated her country through a series of crises, but also for her notable work in promoting LGBT and human rights.

Laura De Dilectis won the Woman in Business Award due to the innovative and effective way in which she tackled the issue of gender-based violence and strived for a safer Europe for all.

Viviane Ogou Corbi won the Women in Youth Activism Award for her outstanding work in promoting youth empowerment, research, and outreach around the African continent.


The Awards were handed out in four different categories:

Woman in Power | showing extraordinary political leadership in Europe

Woman in Action | undertaking extraordinary actions at the grassroots level in Europe

Woman in Business | advancing European integration with entrepreneurial spirit

Young Woman of Europe | for young women (age 15 to 30) actively strengthening the voice of young women in Europe


Woman in Power

Sanna Marin

Former Prime Minister of Finland

Olha Stefanishyna

Ukraine Deputy Prime Minister for European and Euro-Atlantic Integration

Síofra O’Leary

President of the European Court of Human Rights

Woman in Action

Maya Doneva

Secretary General of the European Association of Social Services Providers for People with Disabilities (EASPD)

Rokhaya Diallo

Journalist, feminist, anti-racist activist, and filmmaker

Olga Rudenko

Ukrainian journalist

Woman in Business

Laura de Dilectis


Martina Dlabajová

Member of European Parliament, group of Renew Europe

Lubomila Jordanova

CEO of Plan A.Earth, Founder of the Greentech Alliance

Young Woman of Europe

Kira Marie Peter-Hansen

Member of the European Parliament, member of the Greens/European Free Alliance

Luisa Neubauer

Climate activist, Founder of Fridays For Future Germany

Viviane Ogou Corbi

Youth Activist, President of La Puerta de Africa


Our distinguished jury in 2022 consisted of female leaders from all walks of life across Europe, including:

  • Eva Maydell MEP, President of the European Movement International
  • Reka Safrany, President of the European Women’s Lobby
  • Valeria Ronzitti, Secretary General of SGI Europe
  • Joy Clara Schäflein, Member of the Citizens’ Panels, Plenary Member of the Conference on the Future of Europe
  • Noelle O’Connell, CEO of European Movement Ireland
  • Aura Salla, Public Policy Director, Head of EU Affairs at Meta
  • Arianna Ioli, CEO of the Europa Business School, and Coordinator of the Sport Digital Marketing Festival
  • Aslihan Tekin, EU Representative of EWL Coordination for Turkey
  • Marja Ruotanen, Director General of Democracy & Human Dignity, Council of Europe